Awards & Community Involvement

The Iowa Academy of Family Physicians honors outstanding family physicians and educators by presenting Annual Membership Awards. The Family Physician of the Year Award is presented to a family physician that was nominated by a patient and exemplifies what it means to be not only a great family physician but an active participant in their community. The Educator of the Year Award is given to a family physician who is quality educator in family practice education. The Lifetime Achievement award is awarded to one or more family physicians who accomplished amazing things in their careers.

Family Physician of the Year Lifetime Achievement Award Medical Educator of the Year

Please send letters of nomination to:
Katie Cox
100 East Grand Ave
Suite 240
Des Moines, IA 50309
OR  email your letters to:

DEADLINE IS August 24, 2017

This prestigious award is given annually to an actively practicing family physician who spends at least 50% of his/her time in direct patient care; maintains an active office and hospital practice; is involved in his/her community and civic organizations; does not have immediate plans to retire or relocate; and is an active member of the Academy. The Iowa Family Physician will be nominated for the National Family Physician Award.

Past honorees include:
1988 Scott Helmers, M.D.
1989 Dale Christensen, M.D.
1990 James R. Paulson, M.D.
1991 Rodney Miller, M.D.
1992 Marion Barnes, M.D.
1993 Francis Pisney, M.D.
1994 Kelly D. Ross, M.D.
1995 David Paulus, M.D.
1996 Alan Vasher, D.O.
1997 John W. Barnes, M.D.
1998 Ronald Zoutendam, M.D.
1999 Donald Skinner, M.D.
2000 Richard A. Jongewaard, M.D.
2001 Cynthia Wolff, M.D.
2002 David Crippin, M.D.
2003 Michael Gimbel, M.D.
2004 Kenton Moss, M.D.
2005 David Carlson, M.D.
2006 Sharon Bertroche, M.D.
2007 Dale Nystrom, M.D.
2008 Subhash Sahai, M.D.
2009 Craig Thompson, D.O.
2010 Michael AbouAssaly, M.D.
2011 Doug Peters, M.D.
2012 Ried Boom, M.D.
2013 Patrick Edwards, M.D.
2014 Gerard Stanley, Sr., M.D.
2015 Mark Haganman, D.O.
2016 Chris VandeLune, D.O.

Each year the Academy receives many nominations for the Family Physician of the Year, and reviewing these nominations has many members wondering why only one doctor should be honored from among so many deserving. There are a number of our colleagues who are winding down their practices, and the sum of their contribution to their patients, their greater community and to us as our mentors and role models is enormous. And if more than one – or more than five – deserving, who are we not to honor them?

The IAFP Lifetime Achievement Award, instituted in 2000, is given to one or more Academy members based on nomination by another member, both of whom are in good standing. The criteria include the recipient having been a member of the IAFP for at least ten years, has been involved in significant community service and civic activities, is a resident of Iowa, and is a role model for family physicians, residents and/or students. Both active and life members will be considered, however retirees will only be considered for up to five years after retirement.

Final selection remains the discretion of the Member Services Committee and the Board of Directors.

Past Honorees Include:

Charles Beckman, M.D.
Paul Fee, M.D.
John Garred, M.D.
John Kelly, M.D.
John Murphy, M.D.
Loran Parker, M.D.
Dennis Walter, M.D

Thomas Carroll, M.D.
James Coddington, M.D.
James Dunlevy, M.D.
John Sear, M.D.

William Baumann, M.D.
Forest Dean, M.D.
James Kimball, M.D.
Gary Levalley, M.D..

John Andersen, M.D.
John Hornberger, M.D.
Robert Merrick, M.D.
Wayne Rouse, M.D.

Kenneth Andersen, M.D.
Robert Dunlay, M.D.
Scott Helmers, M.D.
Peter Kepros, M.D.
James Paulson, M.D.

James Carr, M.D.
Keith Garber, M.D.
Donald Nelson, M.D.
M. Gene Parks, M.D.

Don Boldt, M.D.
Steve Eckstat, D.O.
Richard Jongewaard, M.D.
Leslie Weber, M.D.
Robert Wettach, M.D.

Sherman Anthony, M.D.
Gerald McGowan, M.D.

Charles Hamm, M.D.
Francis Pisney, M.D.
Robert Powell, M.D.
David Thomas, M.D.

Gordon Baustian M.D.
James McCabe M.D.
John O’Shea, M.D.
Mark Schultz D.O.

John Brunkhorst, M.D.
William Hicks, M.D.
Michael Miriovsky, M.D.
Paul Ruggle, M.D.

James Kimball , M.D.
Jerrold White, M.D.
Steve Wolfe, M.D.
James Young, M.D.

Larry Beaty, M.D.
Donald Hilliard, M.D.
Paul Holzworth, M.D.
Darrell Jebsen, M.D.
William McCabe, M.D.

Noreen O'Shea, D.O.
George Richardson, M.D.

Thomas Evans, M.D.
Jeffrey Hoffmann, D.O.
Charles Korte, M.D.
Larry Severidt, M.D.

Paul Volker, M.D.

Ried Boom, M.D.
Orville Bunker, M.D.
Harold Miller, M.D.
Donald Skinner, M.D.
Dennis Zachary, M.D.

This award is given annually to recognize quality in family practice education. The nominee must be a member of the Academy and should be involved in teaching at a student level, resident level or in the continuing education of family physicians.

Each Iowa residency program is encouraged to submit a nomination for this award. Students, practicing family physicians and educators also need to consider nominating someone.  

Past recipients:
1978 Vernon Schlaser, M.D.
1979 Richard Caplan, M.D.
1980 Harold Moessner, M.D.
1981 Robert Rakel, M.D.
1982 Reuben Widmer, M.D.
1984 Phil Mathias, M.D.
1985 John Murphy, M.D.
1986 Glenys Williams, M.D.
1987 Loren Parker, M.D.
1988 Richard Munns, M.D.
1989 Karl Jauch, M.D.
1990 Donald A.F. Nelson, M.D.
1992 Charles Driscoll, M.D.
1993 Stanton Danielson, M.D.
1994 Monte Skaufle, M.D.
1995 John W. Ely, M.D.
1996 Kim Brandt, M.D.
1997 Eric Evans, M.D.
1998 Michael Sparacino, D.O.
1999 Gerald Mc Gowan, M.D.
2000 Marvin R. Huff, D.O.
2001 George Bergus, M.D.
2002 Gerald Jogerst, M.D.
2003 R. Reid Boom, M.D.
2004 Barcey Levy, M.D., Ph.D
2005 John Sutherland, M.D.
2006 Charles Zelnick, M.D.
2007 Jim Young, M.D.
2008 Robert Merrick, M.D
2009 Larry Beaty, M.D.
2010 Larry Severidt, M.D.
2012 Corrine Ganske, M.D.
2013 Jill Endres, M.D.
2014 Michael Jung, M.D.
2015 Ann Soenen, D.O.
2016 Gena Benoit, M.D.